Signed in as:
Signed in as:
Concealed pistol application kits are provided free of charge during normal business hours by county clerks, or found here (michigan.gov/firearms).
You must be at least 18 to purchase a gun in Michigan. To purchase a handgun from a federally licensed dealer, you must be at least 21. Anyone convicted of a felony is barred from possessing a firearm under federal law, as is anyone convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence.
A CPL is necessary to carry a concealed gun in Michigan, and 37 other states honor Michigan’s concealed carry license. Here’s a look at some state laws.
Get a free download here: https://tracking.deltadefense.com/SH34Z
You could take the US Concealed Carry Association’s “Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals” course, MCRGO’s CPL class, NRA’s Personal Protection in the Home class, and any MCOLES-approved curriculum that’s taught at an approved law enforcement training facility. We have NRA and USCCA Instructors with many years of experience. We have online scheduling so you can find the class that meet your schedule.
To get a concealed pistol license (CPL) in Michigan, you are required to take a training course first. These CPL classes are 8 hours long, and include classroom training and instruction on the shooting range. www. MichiganPistolAcademy.com
It is always a good idea. The course reviews the fundamentals of safety and gun handling, including transportation, storage, and firing in defensive situations.
Looking for shooting classes in Michigan? Find all types of local classes - basic, concealed carry, intermediate, and advanced firearm training in Michigan.
If you have a Concealed Pistol License in Michigan, you can carry concealed or open. If you do not have a CPL, you cannot conceal carry. When carrying a handgun without a CPL, handguns must be carried in plain view. You may not take any game with a handgun while bow hunting.
Holding a valid CPL ensures you're seen as a law-abiding citizen by your fellow citizens and by law enforcement. Additionally, a CPL permits you to transport a loaded pistol in your car. Unless you have a CPL, any pistol in the vehicle is considered concealed, so it must be unloaded and separated from the ammunition
CPL stands for Concealed Pistol License. This is the correct term for the license that will actually allow you to carry a pistol concealed in Michigan. It is commonly referred to as CCW although this is inaccurate. The term CCW is actually the name of the crime of “Carrying a Concealed Weapon” as defined by law.
Misdemeanor convictions: Those who have been convicted of misdemeanor assault, misdemeanor sex crimes, and even certain misdemeanor weapons offenses can be barred from obtaining a CPL in Michigan for 8 years.
The county clerk shall issue a license or notice of statutory disqualification within 45 days after the date the applicant has classifiable fingerprints taken.
An applicant for a Michigan CPL must:
That’s easy, we are 5 star rated. We take online scheduling on our websites. We have group classes as well as Private CPL Classes near you, based on your schedule.
At all times when carried in or on a motor vehicle, including snowmobiles: Rifles, shotguns, muzzleloading and other firearms must be unloaded in both barrel and magazine and enclosed in a case or carried in the trunk of a vehicle.
Copyright © 2018-2023 Michigan Pistol Academy - Avcon Services Group Inc. All Rights Reserved.